About Bentleigh

About Bentleigh Main Image

The state electoral district of Bentleigh is one of 88 seats that make up the Victorian Legislative Assembly, the lower house of the Parliament of Victoria. The traditional owners of the land are the Ngaruk-Willam clan of the Boon Wurrung people, part of the Kulin Nation.

Bentleigh was once the market garden capital of Melbourne. Today, its suburbs are home to a vibrant community of young Victorians, families, and seniors, with a collective heritage spanning the globe.

In addition to its namesake suburb of Bentleigh, the district also covers the suburbs of Bentleigh East, McKinnon and Moorabbin, along with parts of Ormond, Cheltenham and Highett. Two local government areas exist within the district: the City of Glen Eira and the City of Kingston.


Did you know?

Bentleigh was named after Sir Thomas Bent, a local market gardener who served as Premier of Victoria from 1904 to 1909. He was a colourful character to say the least!

Our local area was once full of market gardens, which supplied Melbourne with its produce.

During the second World War, Moorabbin hosted a wireless receiving station in a paddock off Chesterville Road. The station intercepted transmissions from the Japanese army that were critical to the success of the allied forces.

A Hoyts cinema once stood at the corner of Centre Road and Nicholson Street, Bentleigh. It closed in 1984.

Bentleigh Hodgson Reserve, which is at the rear of Bentleigh RSL, was once a racecourse.





Bentleigh Electorate Office